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Notice to Readers 
 

This report provides brief highlights of new laws affecting children 
enacted during the 2011 regular and special sessions. Each summary 
indicates the public act (PA) number and effective date.  

 
Not all provisions of the acts are included here. Complete summaries 

of all 2011 public acts will be available when OLR publishes its Public 
Act Summary book; some are already on OLR's website 
(www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASums.asp).  

 
Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest 

them from the Connecticut State Library, House Clerks Office, or General 
Assembly's website (www.cga.ct.gov/). 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASums.asp
http://www.cga.ct.gov/
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CHILDREN’S HEALTH 
 

Autism Spectrum Disorders 
 
PA 11-44 (§§ 147 & 148) 

makes changes to the 
requirements for individual and 
group health insurance policies 
that provide coverage for 
medically necessary early 
intervention (birth-to-three 
services) provided as part of an 
individualized family service 
plan. It prohibits these policies 
from imposing co-insurance, 
copayments, deductibles, or 
other out-of-pocket expenses for 
these services, unless they are 
high-deductible policies designed 
to be compatible with federally 
qualified health savings 
accounts.  

The act also increases the 
annual maximum benefit that 
group health insurers must 
provide for children with autism 
spectrum disorders who receive 
birth-to-three services.  

By law, group health 
insurance policies must cover 
medically necessary birth-to-
three services provided as part of 
an individualized family service 
plan for children with 
developmental delays. This 
coverage must include an annual 
maximum policy benefit of 
$6,400 per child, with an 
aggregate benefit of $19,200 per 
child over the three-year period. 
The act expands these coverage 
amounts for children with autism 

spectrum disorders to $50,000 
per child per year and $150,000 
per child over the three-year 
period. The act specifies that 
coverage provided through a 
birth-to-three individualized 
service plan must (1) be credited 
toward these coverage amounts 
in other statutes mandating 
autism coverage and (2) not 
increase these coverage amounts.  

The act applies to health 
insurance policies delivered, 
issued, or renewed in 
Connecticut that cover (1) basic 
hospital expenses; (2) basic 
medical-surgical expenses; (3) 
major medical expenses; and (4) 
hospital or medical services, 
including coverage under an 
HMO plan. Due to the federal 
Employee Retirement and Income 
Security Act, state health 
insurance mandates do not apply 
to self-insured plans.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 
2012 

 
Childhood Immunization Task 
Force 

 
PA 11-44 (§ 163) establishes 

a 27-member childhood 
immunization task force 
consisting of legislative 
appointees, legislators, and 
executive branch members to 
consider whether the state 
should continue universal 
childhood immunizations. By 
law, the Department of Public 
Health (DPH) commissioner 
determines the standard of care 
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for childhood immunizations in 
Connecticut based on the 
recommended schedules of the 
(1) National Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention Advisory 
Committee on Immunization 
Practices, (2) American Academy 
of Pediatrics, and (3) American 
Academy of Family Physicians. 
Currently, DPH operates a 
federal “Vaccine for Children” 
program and its own 
immunization program funded by 
an assessment on health 
insurers.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 
 
Termination of Utility Service 
for Households with 
Hospitalized Children 

 
The law bars electric and gas 

utilities, from November 1 
through May 1, from terminating, 
or refusing to reinstate, service to 
residential customers who are 
“hardship cases” who cannot pay 
their bill. PA 11-80 (§ 120) 
additionally prohibits the utilities 
from denying service during this 
period. It also makes the 
prohibition apply year-round in 
cases where such customers 
have a child up to 24 months old 
who (1) lives in the customer's 
household, (2) has been admitted 
to the hospital, and (3) has 
received discharge papers on 
which the attending physician 
has indicated that utility service  

is needed for the child’s health 
and well being.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 
2011 

 
Drop-In Pilot Program 

 
PA 11-97 directs DPH to allow 

the establishment of a drop-in 
pilot program to provide facility-
based temporary custodial care 
for any child 15 years of age or 
younger with a communicable or 
noncommunicable illness. The 
pilot program (1) must be 
administered by a licensed 
physician and (2) may provide 
temporary custodial care for not 
more than 12 children per day. A 
child in the program may not 
receive more than nine hours of 
custodial care per day. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 
2011 
 
Care of High-Risk Newborns 

 
PA 11-120 eliminates the 

requirement that DCF adopt 
regulations on the procedures 
principal providers (e.g., nurses 
and nursing assistants) of daily 
direct care for high-risk 
newborns in birthing hospitals 
must follow to participate in the 
discharge planning process and 
ongoing DCF functions 
concerning these newborns. 
Instead, DCF must coordinate 
with birthing hospitals to 
disseminate information on these 
procedures. (Birthing hospitals 
care for women during delivery of 
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a child or for women and their 
newborns following birth.) 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

DAY CARE 
 

Care4Kids Notifications 
 
Existing law requires the 

Department of Social Services 
(DSS) to post a notice on its 
website and provide written 
notice to Care4Kids (the state’s 
subsidized day care program) 
families and providers when it 
closes the program to new 
applicants, adopts eligibility 
standards that make it more 
difficult to qualify, or changes 
program benefits.  

PA 11-18 requires DSS to 
also give notice, in the same 
manner and to the same entities, 
when it makes any other change 
to the program’s status or terms. 
As under existing law, DSS must 
give 30 days notice before the 
changes become effective.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 

 
Nonprofit Day Care Center 
Licensing Exemption 

 
PA 11-193 exempts from day 

care licensing requirements child 
day care services administered by 
the Cardinal Shehan Center in 
Bridgeport, as long as the center 
informs the enrolled children’s 
parents and guardians that its 
programs are not licensed by 
DPH to be daycare service 

providers. It does this by adding 
the center to a list of other 
exempt programs and 
organizations, such as boys’ and 
girls’ clubs. By law, DPH 
regulates and licenses child 
daycare centers and group and 
family daycare homes. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN 
AND FAMILIES (DCF) 
 
Prohibition Against Placing 
Children Under Age Six in DCF 
Group Homes 

 
PA 11-44 (§ 164) would have 

generally prohibited the DCF 
commissioner from placing any 
child under age six, or any 
sibling group including a child 
under that age, in a child care 
facility (group home). But PA 11-
48 (§ 305) repealed this change. 
The prohibition would not have 
applied if the (1) home was 
designed for children and their 
parents or (2) child’s health 
needs were so severe that that 
they could only have been met in 
a group home.  

The provisions would have 
required a certification to the 
court when DCF placed a child or 
a sibling group containing such a 
child in a group home and a 
petition to the court for an 
emergency placement review 
hearing if a child or sibling group 
containing such a child remained 
in a group home for more than 
30 days.  
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EFFECTIVE DATE: The 
provisions would have taken 
effect on July 1, 2012 but were 
repealed effective July 1, 2011. 
 
DCF Internal Organization 

 
PA 11-105 requires the DCF 

commissioner to appoint up to 
two program directors and up to 
six regional directors in the 
unclassified service. Under prior 
law, she appointed directors as 
necessary, in the classified 
service, and with duties she 
determined. By law, unchanged 
by the act, she must make the 
appointments after consulting 
with the State Advisory Council 
on Children and Families (SAC). 
The act replaces the 
department’s structure of area 
directors, offices, and advisory 
councils in prior law with 
regional directors, offices, and 
advisory councils. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

 
Connecticut Juvenile Training 
School’s Public Safety 
Committee 

 
PA 11-105 eliminates the 

Connecticut Juvenile Training 
School’s (CJTS) public safety 
committee and transfers 
responsibility for reviewing safety 
and security issues that affect 
CJTS’s host municipality 
(Middletown) to the CJTS  

advisory committee. (CJTS is the 
state's all-male, high security 
juvenile detention facility.) 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 
 
Notification of Parental Rights 
During a DCF Investigation 

 
PA 11-112 requires DCF, 

when making an initial, in-
person investigation of a 
complaint of child abuse or 
neglect to give the child’s parent 
or guardian written notice of his 
or her rights, as well as the 
implications of his or her failure 
to communicate with the 
department.  

The DCF representative must 
(1) ask the parent or guardian to 
sign and date the notice as 
evidence of having received it and 
(2) immediately provide a copy of 
the signed notice to the parent or 
guardian. If the parent or 
guardian refuses to sign, the 
representative must (1) indicate 
on the notice that he or she was 
asked to sign and date it, but 
refused to do so and (2) sign it as 
witness to that fact.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

 
Waiving the Need for Separate 
Bedrooms 

 
PA 11-116 authorizes DCF 

commissioner to waive any 
standard for separate bedrooms 
and room-sharing arrangements 
when placing a child in foster 
care with an unlicensed relative if 
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doing so is in the child’s best 
interest. The law, unchanged by 
the act, bars the commissioner 
from waiving any standard or 
procedure related to safety. DCF 
regulations bar a child age three 
or older from sharing a bedroom 
with (1) another child of the 
opposite sex or (2) one of the 
same sex who is a disparate age. 
No child over age one can share a 
room with an adult without the 
department’s permission. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

 
Reporting to Superior Court on 
Placement with a Relative 

 
By law, the Superior Court 

must do a number of things at a 
preliminary hearing on a 
temporary custody order, order 
to appear, or the first hearing on 
a petition regarding a neglected, 
uncared for, or dependent child 
or youth. Among them is to 
identify any relation, either by 
blood or marriage, living in the 
state who might serve as a 
licensed foster parent or 
temporary custodian and order 
the DCF commissioner to 
investigate the appropriateness of 
placing a child with such a 
relative. PA 11-116 requires the 
commissioner to report to the 
court within 30 days of the 
hearing on the appropriateness 
of such a placement, rather than 
simply make a determination on 
the matter within that time. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

 
Kinship Care 

 
PA 11-116 requires DCF to 

convene a working group to 
determine how to maximize 
kinship care for children in the 
department’s care and custody. 
By October 1, 2011, the DCF 
commissioner must convene a 
working group to examine DCF 
practices and policies that affect 
kinship care. Using existing 
resources, the group must 
consider agency regulations, 
cultural competence in recruiting 
relative homes, outreach 
practices, and family 
conferencing. The group must 
submit a report by January 1, 
2012 to the Human Services and 
Children’s committees 
summarizing existing policies 
and practices affecting kinship 
care and recommending ways to 
increase such care. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 

 
State Advisory Council on 
Children and Families 

 
PA 11-120 adds two members 

to the SAC and adds foster 
parents to its membership. The 
governor appoints all members of 
the council, which the act 
increases from 17 to 19 
members. By law, at least 50% of 
the members must be parents or 
family members of children who 
are receiving or have received 
behavioral health, child welfare, 
or juvenile services. The act adds 
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foster parents to this portion of 
the membership. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

 
Eliminating Reports  

 
PA 11-120 deletes DCF’s duty 

to prepare a plan on (1) 
delinquent children to be placed 
in CJTS and (2) an approach to 
juvenile rehabilitation.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

 
Ending DCF Services at Age 20 

 
By law, courts can commit 

children to DCF's custody in 
cases of delinquency and 
Families with Service Needs 
(status offenders), and when they 
have intensive behavioral health 
needs that could not otherwise 
be met. Under PA 11-157, a DCF 
commitment ends at the earlier 
of the date (1) a court orders it to 
expire or (2) the child reaches age 
20. If an existing court order goes 
beyond that age, it is cut off 
when the individual reaches age 
20. Courts are also prohibited 
from ordering or continuing 
orders for DCF services beyond 
that age.  

The act also specifies that 
DCF transfers to the Department 
of Correction's (DOC) Manson or 
Niantic facilities end when the 
offender's commitment ends, as  

described above, and the DOC 
jurisdiction over him or her ends 
simultaneously.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

 
Placing a Child with Special 
Study Foster Parents 

 
PA 11-166 eliminates the 

minimum age requirement with 
which DCF must comply to 
temporarily place a child with a 
special study foster parent. 
Previously, only children 10 
years old or older could be placed 
in such care.  

By law:  
1. a special study foster 

parent is at least 21 years 
old and not licensed by 
DCF to provide foster care;  

2. a child may be placed with 
such a parent for up to 90 
days when the placement 
is in the child’s best 
interest;  

3. the placement is made 
after DCF completes a 
satisfactory home visit and 
a basic family assessment;  

4. the special study foster 
parent attests that he or 
she and any adult living in 
the household has not 
been convicted of a crime 
or arrested for any of 
specified felonies or for the 
possession, use, or sale of 
a controlled substance; 
and  



 

   
September 26, 2011 Page 11 of 22 2011-R-0309 

 

5. a special study foster 
parent is subject to the 
licensure requirement if 
the placement exceeds 90 
days. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

 
Access to DCF Records 

 
By law, DCF may not disclose 

its records to anyone unless (1) 
state law or federal regulations 
require or allow the disclosure or 
(2) the subject of the record or 
his or her authorized 
representative consents to the 
disclosure. PA 11-167 generally 
expands the list of individuals 
and entities to whom DCF must, 
or may, disclose its otherwise 
confidential records, while 
broadening the circumstances in 
which the department can deny 
access. Also, in a number of 
instances, it limits or changes 
the use the recipient may make 
of materials contained in a 
record. By law, unauthorized 
disclosures are subject to 
imprisonment for up to one year, 
a fine of up to $1,000, or both.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

 
Establishment of a Differential 
Response Program 

 
PA 11-240 authorizes DCF 

commissioner to establish a 
“differential response program” 
for cases that the department 
classifies as lower-risk. 
Accordingly, it allows the 

commissioner or a designee, 
when the department receives 
reports of alleged child abuse or 
neglect, to refer to community 
providers for family assessments 
and services, rather than 
investigate, those cases that it 
classifies as presenting a lower 
risk. It permits the DCF 
commissioner to establish such a 
differential response system for 
the type of referral the act 
authorizes. Under the act, when 
warranted, cases referred for 
family assessments can be 
referred for standard child 
protection services and vice 
versa. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

 
Abuse or Neglect 

 
PA 11-240 prohibits DCF 

from finding a child or youth 
neglected solely because his or 
her parents are impoverished. It 
also eliminates children or youth 
who have been abused from the 
definition of “neglect. ”  

The act also changes the 
definition of “abuse” of children 
and youth by providing that a 
child or youth can be found to be 
abused, rather than deemed to 
be abused, if he or she is found 
to have statutorily specified 
adverse conditions.  

The act removes the statutory 
definition of a “dependent” child 
or youth in juvenile court 
matters. These children and 
youth were defined in prior law 
as those whose home was a 
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suitable one for them except for 
the financial inability of their 
parent, guardian, or other person 
maintaining the home to provide 
for the child's or youth's 
specialized care needs. This 
change appears to eliminate DCF 
authority over claims of 
dependency unless they also 
satisfy the definition of either 
abuse or neglect. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

EDUCATION 
 
Identifying Foster Children in 
Schools 

 
PA 11-93 requires DCF, when 

asked by school boards that have 
foster children from other towns 
attending schools under the 
boards’ jurisdiction, to provide 
the foster child’s name, birth 
date, and school of origin. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

 
Additional Truancy 
Requirements for Schools 

 
By law, each school board 

must adopt policies and 
procedures for dealing with 
truants that include certain 
specific actions. Among these are 
that (1) school personnel or 
volunteers under their direction 
make a reasonable effort to notify 
parents by phone when their 
child fails to appear for school 
and there is no indication that 
the parent knows of the child’s 

absence; (2) school officials meet 
with a child’s parents within 10 
school days after the child’s 
fourth unexcused absence in a 
month or 10th in a school year; 
and (3) when a parent does not 
attend the required meeting or 
otherwise fails to cooperate in 
addressing the truancy, the 
superintendent of schools file a 
written complaint with the 
Superior Court alleging that the 
child’s family is a Family With 
Service Needs (FWSN). 

 
PA 11-136 (§§ 16-18) 

requires: 
1. school personnel or 

volunteers to notify the 
parent of a child’s absence 
by mail as well as by 
phone, 

2. the mailed notice to warn 
that two unexcused 
absences in a month or five 
in a year could lead the 
school superintendent to 
file a FWSN complaint, and 

3. the superintendent to file a 
FWSN complaint within 15 
days after a parent fails to 
attend the meeting with 
school officials or otherwise 
fails to cooperate in 
addressing his or her 
child’s school absences. 
Prior law imposed no 
deadline for filing the 
FWSN complaint. 

By law, superintendents must 
include truancy data in the 
school and school district profiles 
they must submit to SDE each 
year. The act also requires 
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superintendents to include, in 
the narrative part of the profiles, 
a description of their school 
board’s actions to reduce 
truancy. 

By July 1, 2012, the act 
requires the State Board of 
Education to define an “excused” 
and “unexcused” absence and 
requires school boards to use the 
definitions to (1) report required 
truancy data on school profiles 
and (2) implement required 
truancy policies and procedures. 
There was formerly no 
requirement for a uniform 
statewide definition of these 
terms. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 
 
Establishing an Anti-Truancy 
Pilot Program in Waterbury 

 
PA 11-177 authorizes the 

probate court administrator to 
establish a pilot truancy clinic in 
Waterbury, within available 
appropriations. The Waterbury 
Regional Children’s Probate 
Court administrative judge must 
administer the clinic. The 
purpose of the clinic is to identify 
and resolve the systemic causes 
of school absenteeism using 
nonpunitive procedures. 

The act requires the truancy 
clinic to establish participation 
protocols and programs and 
relationships with schools and 
other individuals and 
organizations in the community 
to provide support services to 
clinic participants.  

The probate court 
administrator must establish 
implementation policies and 
procedures and measure 
effectiveness. The clinic 
administrator must report to the 
probate court administrator, by 
September 1, 2012 and annually 
after that, on the clinic’s 
effectiveness. By January 1, 
2015, the probate court 
administrator must report on the 
clinic’s effectiveness to the 
Education and Judiciary 
committees. 

The act also authorizes (1) the 
administrative judge to refer any 
truancy clinic matter to a probate 
magistrate or attorney probate 
referee and (2) probate 
magistrates or attorney probate 
referees to hear these matters. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 

 
Early Childhood Education 

 
 PA 11-181 creates, by July 

1, 2013, a coordinated system of 
early care and education and 
child development. It requires the 
governor, by July 15, 2011 to 
appoint a planning director 
within the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM) to develop a 
plan to implement the system. 
The act lists the system’s duties 
and the things the planning 
director must consider in 
developing the implementation 
plan. 

It requires various state 
agencies to help him or her 
develop in the plan. 
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It (1) requires the system to 
collaborate with local and 
regional early childhood councils 
to implement the system at the 
local level and (2) lists the 
childhood council’s duties in the 
collaboration. 

It requires the planning 
director to report to the Early 
Childhood Education Cabinet 
and several legislative 
committees, at various times, on 
the progress in planning and 
implementing the system.  

The act eliminates SDE’s 
Office of Early Childhood 
Planning, Outreach and 
Coordination and all of its duties.  

It also changes the 
membership of the Early 
Childhood Education Cabinet 
and expands it from 17 to 20. 

 
Strengthening School Bullying 
Laws 

 
 PA 11-232 expands the types 

of conduct that constitute school 
bullying and the situations where 
it can occur. It expressly 
identifies as bullying (1) any 
targeting of a student based on 
the student’s actual or perceived 
“differentiating” characteristics, 
such as race, gender, sexual 
orientation, or physical 
appearance and (2) actions taken 
through electronic 
communications or devices that 
otherwise qualify as bullying and 
are known collectively as 
“cyberbullying.”  

The act (1) makes the school 
principal responsible for 

investigating or designating 
someone to investigate and 
address bullying whether it 
occurs in- or out-of-school, if it 
affects the school or students in 
the school or school district and 
(2) requires all school employees, 
not just teachers and 
administrators, to report bullying 
incidents they see or that are 
reported to them to the principal 
or his or her designee. 

It requires schools and school 
districts to adopt safe school 
climate plans, rather than 
policies, to address bullying. It 
adds to the requirements for 
such plans that they, among 
other things, (1) establish 
deadlines for reporting, 
investigating, and notifying 
parents and guardians about 
bullying incidents; (2) prohibit 
retaliation against those who 
report bullying; and (3) require 
school officials to notify police 
when they believe bullying 
conduct constitutes a crime.  

The act requires certified and 
noncertified employees, as well 
as certain contractors, working 
in public schools to receive 
annual training in how to 
identify, intervene, and prevent 
bullying and suicide among 
students. It also requires 
beginning teachers and teacher 
candidates to complete training 
on these topics. It grants 
immunity to school boards, 
school employees, students, 
parents, and others against 
damage claims arising from good 
faith reports of bullying and 
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responses to bullying in 
accordance with a district’s safe 
school climate plan. 

The act requires:  
1. each school to carry out a 

biennial assessment of its 
school climate, using 
instruments disseminated 
by SDE;  

2. school superintendents 
and principals to designate 
staff members and school 
committees to be 
responsible for school 
climate and responses to 
bullying in each school and 
district; and 

3. SDE to establish a 
statewide network to 
provide resources, 
materials, and training on 
school bullying to school 
districts in the state. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

JUVENILE JUSTICE 
 

Juvenile Open Court Pilot 
Program  

 
PA 11-51 (§§ 30 and 225) 

repeals a Judicial Branch 
Juvenile Access Pilot Program, 
established in 2009 to increase 
public access to proceedings 
where a child is alleged to be 
uncared for, neglected, abused, 
or dependent, or is the subject of 
a petition for termination of 
parental rights. In place of the 
pilot program, the act permits all 
family matters judges to open 
their courtrooms to people with a 

legitimate interest in the hearing 
or work of the court. People who 
may be granted access include:  

1. foster parents and 
relatives;  

2. service providers; and 
3. members of the media and 

individuals or 
representatives of any 
agency, entity, or 
association.  

For a child’s safety and 
protection, judges may direct 
members of the last group who 
are present at a hearing not to 
disclose information that 
identifies the child, his or her 
custodian or caretaker, or 
members of the child’s family 
involved in the case.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 
2011 except the repeal of certain 
obsolete statutes is effective upon 
passage. 

 
Juvenile Reentry and 
Education  

 
PA 11-115:  
1. expands a student’s right 

to re-enroll in his or her 
old school district after 
being sent to a juvenile 
detention center, the 
Connecticut Juvenile 
Training School, or 
another residential 
placement for committing 
an offense for which he or 
she could be expelled from 
school;  

2. requires school districts to 
immediately enroll or re-
enroll a student 
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transferring from either of 
the unified school districts 
(USDs) run by DOC and 
DCF (USD #1 and USD #2, 
respectively);  

3. requires a school district 
to re-enroll such a student 
in his or her former 
school, if the student went 
to school in the district 
before attending school in 
a USD and the former 
school has appropriate 
grade levels for the 
student;  

4. establishes a deadline by 
which a new school 
district or charter school 
must notify a transfer 
student’s previous district 
or charter school of a 
student’s enrollment, and 
extends to USD #2 the 
required deadlines for a 
new school district or 
charter school to notify 
USD #1 of a student’s 
transfer; and  

5. requires school districts 
and charter schools to give 
students credit for 
instruction received in 
USD #2 within 30 days 
after receiving the 
student's records, as they 
already had to do for 
instruction received in 
USD #1.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 
2011 

 

Placing Arrested Children in 
Juvenile Detention Centers 

 
PA 11-154 prohibits police 

officers from placing children 
they arrest, but who have not yet 
appeared before a judge, in a 
juvenile detention center without 
a Superior Court order. It also 
makes other juvenile justice 
changes. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 
1, 2011, except a new reporting 
requirement is effective upon 
passage. 

 
Early Release of Juvenile 
Delinquents 

 
PA 11-156 allows some 

detained juvenile delinquents to 
qualify for leave and release 
earlier than they would have 
otherwise. Under existing DCF 
facility rules, juvenile 
delinquents cannot be granted 
leave or release unless they have 
satisfactorily completed a 60-day 
fitness and security risk 
evaluation.  

The act allows the DCF 
commissioner to waive this 
requirement when a delinquent 
who transferred from one facility 
to another had already 
satisfactorily completed the 
evaluation before the transfer.  

The act also eliminates a 
requirement that DCF prepare a 
plan to keep delinquents sent to 
CJTS housed in that facility for 
at least one year. The plan also 
had to take a comprehensive 
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approach to juvenile 
rehabilitation.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

 
Admissibility of Juvenile 
Confessions 

 
By law, admissions, 

confessions, or statements made 
by a 16-year-old are inadmissible 
in any related delinquency 
proceeding unless the (1) police 
or juvenile court official made 
reasonable efforts to contact the 
child's parent or guardian, (2) 
child was advised that he or she 
has a right to contact a parent or 
guardian and have him or her 
present during the interview, and 
(3) child was told about his or 
her Miranda rights. Under PA 
11-157, beginning July 1, 2012, 
these rules do not apply to 
admissions, confessions, or 
statements a 16- or 17-year-old 
makes to a police officer in 
connection with a case 
transferred to the juvenile docket 
from the youthful offender, 
regular criminal, or any motor 
vehicle docket, thus making 
them admissible in a court 
proceeding.  

The act also makes the same 
exception for such confessions 
from the “totality of 
circumstances” test that 
ordinarily governs the 
admissibility of confessions in 
court proceedings.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2012 

 

Disclosure of Educational 
Records to Juvenile Detention 
Facilities 

 
When a student is being held 

at CJTS or in a community 
detention facility, PA 11-157 
requires the local or regional 
board of education of the town 
where the student is enrolled, in 
compliance with federal 
regulations, to provide the 
student's educational records to 
the facility on request and 
without the parent's written 
permission. If the records are 
supplied without parental 
permission, the school must 
notify the parent or guardian at 
the time it releases the records. 
These records may not be further 
disclosed without a court order 
or the written consent of the 
student's parent or guardian.  

The facility can use the 
records only to provide the 
detainee with educational 
services.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 
 
Other Juvenile Justice 
Changes 

 
PA 11-157 also:  
1. removes crimes related to 

failure to appear and 
violations of the conditions 
of release from the 
definition of “delinquent 
child,” and related 
provisions;  
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2. excludes delinquent acts 
from the definition of 
“family violence crimes”;  

3. adds as serious juvenile 
offenses (SJO) 1st and 2nd 
degree strangulation and 
home invasion, thereby 
increasing penalties for 
these offenses;  

4. removes 2nd degree 
hindering prosecution 
from enumerated SJOs;  

5. beginning July 1, 2012, 
permits 17-year-olds 
alleged to have committed 
an offense that is pending 
on the youthful offender, 
regular criminal, or any 
motor vehicle docket on or 
after that date to have 
their cases transferred to 
juvenile court if juvenile 
programs are available 
that would more 
appropriately meet their 
needs and the youth and 
community would be 
better served by the 
treatment;  

6. eliminates the requirement 
that DCF plan to keep 
juveniles sent to the 
Connecticut Juvenile 
Training School (CJTS) for 
at least one year;  

7. requires police to notify 
the superintendent of the 
district where an arrested 
student attends school, as 
an alternative to the 
district where he or she 
lives;  

8. requires schools to 
maintain confidentiality 

about juvenile justice and 
disciplinary matters that 
involve students age 16 
and 17, not just younger 
students;  

9. mandates that 
delinquency convictions 
for evading responsibility 
with a motor vehicle 
involving death or serious 
injury be reported to the 
Department of Motor 
Vehicles for the purpose of 
determining whether 
administrative sanctions 
against the child’s driver's 
license are warranted;  

10. requires police 
departments to handle 
reports of missing 15- to 
17-year-olds in the same 
manner as they handle 
reports involving younger 
children and vulnerable 
adults; and 

11. cuts off DCF services for 
children in families with 
service needs (status 
offenders) at age 18.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 
1, 2011, except the provisions 
involving 17-year-olds in 
delinquency proceedings are 
effective July 1, 2012. 

REPORTING CHILD ABUSE 
 
Mandated Reporters in 
Schools 

 
PA 11-93 expands the state’s 

“mandated reporter” law, which 
generally requires specified 
professionals to report to DCF or 
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local law enforcement when they 
suspect that children have been 
abused or neglected.  

It requires:  
1. DCF, in consultation with 

the State Department of 
Education (SDE), to craft a 
model mandated reporter 
policy for school boards to 
use to train school 
personnel; 

2. the DCF commissioner to 
(a) offer a refresher reporter 
training program; (b) 
within available funding, 
provide training to all new 
school employees; and (c) 
develop a policy for 
investigating the school’s 
mandated reporters who 
either fail to report or 
report late; and  

3. school boards to take 
certain steps to ensure 
that school districts offer 
reporter training.  

The act also establishes 
additional steps to be followed 
when the alleged perpetrator of 
the abuse or neglect is a school 
employee, including notification 
of certain school personnel and 
SDE. It adds to the 
responsibilities school boards 
have when assisting DCF with 
investigations as well as 
performing their own, and 
requires DCF to do random 
quality assurance reviews of 
reports involving school 
employees. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

 

Child Abuse Registry 
 
PA 11-93 makes several 

changes in the use of, and 
reporting to, the child abuse 
registry that DCF must maintain. 
It:  

1. requires school boards to 
require applicants for any 
position in the public 
schools to submit to a 
registry check; 

2. requires DCF to develop a 
plan to implement this 
requirement and submit it 
to the Education and 
Human Services 
committees;  

3. requires teachers, when 
first applying or renewing 
their state teaching 
certification, to submit to 
registry checks; and  

4. allows disclosure of certain 
information in the registry. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 
 
Notifying DCF When Teenagers 
are Arrested for Prostitution  

 
PA 11-180 requires a police 

officer who arrests a 16- or 17-
year-old on prostitution charges 
to report suspected child abuse 
or neglect to DCF. The report to 
DCF must be in accordance with 
the child abuse reporting law, 
which outlines report contents 
and imposes filing deadlines. By 
law, a police officer is a 
mandated reporter who must 
report suspected child abuse or 
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neglect to DCF and is subject to 
penalties for failure to do so. 

The act requires an officer to 
make an oral report as soon as 
practicable, but within 12 hours 
(presumably of the arrest), and a 
written report within 48 hours 
after making the oral report. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

 
Cross-Reporting Child Abuse 
and Animal Abuse 

 
PA 11-194 requires state, 

regional, and municipal animal 
control officers (ACOs) and DCF 
employees to report to the 
Department of Agriculture 
(DOAG) commissioner when they 
reasonably suspect that an 
animal is being treated cruelly, 
harmed, or neglected. The DOAG 
commissioner must forward the 
information he or she receives 
from the ACOs to the DCF 
commissioner in a monthly 
report. The DCF commissioner 
must then determine whether 
any address in an animal cruelty 
report corresponds to an address 
where there is an open 
investigation of a child in 
response to a report of child 
abuse or neglect.  

The DCF commissioner must 
develop and implement training 
for her department’s employees 
on how to identify cruelty or 
harm to or neglect of animals 
and their relationship to child 
welfare case practices. She must 
also train ACOs concerning 
identifying and reporting child 

abuse and neglect. All training 
must be accomplished within 
available appropriations. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

MISCELLANEOUS 
 

Children and Disaster 
Planning 

 
PA 11-66 requires the 

commissioner of the Department 
of Emergency Management and 
Homeland Security (DEMHS) to 
amend the state’s civil 
preparedness plan and program 
to include planning and activities 
specifically for children and 
youth in the event of natural or 
man-made disasters and 
terrorism. Starting by January 1, 
2012, the commissioner must 
annually report to the General 
Assembly on homeland 
preparedness and emergency 
response plans and activities for 
children. The act specifies the 
provisions that the report and 
updated and amended plan and 
programs must address and 
include. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 

 
Results Based Accountability 
for Policies Affecting Children 

 
PA 11-109 requires the 

Children’s Committee to (1) 
maintain an annual report card 
evaluating the progress of state 
policies and programs affecting 
children; (2) develop, with a 
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working group, progress 
indicators and measures related 
to issues affecting children; and 
(3) consult with the 
Appropriations Committee’s 
results-based accountability 
(RBA) subcommittee to identify 
child welfare system programs 
that must prepare their own 
annual report cards. The act 
specifies the (1) progress 
indicators that must be included 
in the Children’s Committee’s 
report card along with relevant 
data and (2) report card’s 
distribution requirements. It 
identifies the participants in the 
working group, the issues for 
which indicators and measures 
must be developed, and the 
subsequent review process the 
committee must conduct.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

 
Uniform Definitions  

 
PA 11-157 incorporates by 

reference definitions of “child” 
and “youth” from the delinquency 
statutes into the general 
definitions of those terms in the 
DCF statutes. The previous 
general definition of a child was a 
person under age 16; under the 
act it is a person under age 18 
who has not been emancipated 
(legally designated an adult). The 
definition of youth changes from 
anyone at least age 16 and 
younger than 19 to an 
unemancipated 16- or 17-year-
old.  

This expands the laws 
regarding a child to cover 16- 
and 17-year-olds (in some case 
excluding emancipated minors). 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 

 
Court Findings Regarding 
Child Placement 

 
Under PA 11-180, before a 

Superior or probate court places 
or approves a child for adoption 
outside the state or a Superior 
Court commits an abused or 
neglected child to an out-of-state 
DCF placement, the court must 
find that the placement complies 
with the Interstate Compact on 
the Placement of Children (ICPC). 
In either case, the court’s 
findings must include:  

1. a finding that the state has 
received written notice 
from the receiving state 
that the proposed 
placement does not appear 
to be contrary to the child’s 
interests,  

2. the court has reviewed the 
notice,  

3. whether the receiving state 
has completed the home 
study the compact requires 
or another home study, 
and  

4. whether the receiving 
state’s study supports the 
placement. 

Under the act, the Superior 
Court finding must be on the 
record, the probate court finding 
does not. 
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The ICPC governs placement 
of children into and out of 
Connecticut for adoption, foster 
care, and residence with relatives 
after court action. Its purpose is 
to facilitate home studies in the 
receiving state before placement 
and supervision after placement 
(CGS § 17a-175). 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 
 
Child Support 

 
The law requires parents to 

support their children. Wage 
withholding orders, authorizing 
employers to deduct established 
child support obligations from 
paychecks, are the most common 
way of pursuing support for 
parties separated or divorced or 
who never married the child’s 
other parent.  

PA 11-214 and PA 11-219 
makes numerous changes in the 
child support laws including 
statutes governing the 

Department of Social Services' 
Bureau of Child Support 
Enforcement and the Judicial 
Branch's Support Enforcement 
Services Division.  

PA 11-233 (§ 15) establishes 
a pilot program to provide 
employment opportunities for 
people legally obliged to provide 
child support. The program must 
operate in the Superior Court for 
family matters in Hartford, New 
Haven, and a third judicial 
district chosen by the chief court 
administrator. The act requires 
the administrator to report to the 
Judiciary Committee on the 
program's status and 
participation by July 1, 2012.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2011 except the pilot program is 
effective July 1, 2011. 
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